Anointing of the Sick

Traditionally referred to as Extreme Unction or Last Rites, the Sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick was previously most commonly administered to the dying, for the remission of sins and the provision of spiritual strength and health. In modern times, however, its use has been expanded to all who are gravely ill or are about to undergo a serious operation, and the Church stresses a secondary effect of the Sacrament: to help a person recover their health. Like Confession and Holy Communion, to which it is closely linked, the Sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick can be repeated as often as necessary.

For more information: Contact the parish office (796-1604)


Baptism is often called the door of the Church, because it is the first of the seven Sacraments not only in time but in priority, since the reception of the other Sacraments depends on it.  It is the first of the three Sacraments of Initiation.

Christ Himself ordered His disciples to preach the Gospel to all nations and to baptize those who accept the message of the Gospel (John 3: 1-21).

To receive the Sacrament of Baptism: Contact the parish office (796-1604)


Marriage is a practice common to all cultures in all ages. It is therefore, a natural institution, something common to all mankind. At its most basic level, marriage is a union between a man and a woman for the purpose of procreation and mutual support, or love. Each spouse in a marriage gives up some rights over his or her life in exchange for rights over the life of the other spouse.

Four elements common to natural marriage throughout history:

1) It is a union of opposite sexes.
2) It is a lifelong union, ending only with the death of one spouse.
3) It excludes a union with any other person as long as the marriage exists.
4) Its lifelong nature and exclusiveness are guaranteed by contract.

In the Catholic Church, however marriage is more than a natural institution. A marriage between two Christians has a supernatural element as well as a natural one. The ministers of the Sacrament are the spouses themselves. The Church strongly encourages Catholics to marry in the presence of a priest and to have a wedding Mass. The effect of the Sacrament is an increase in sanctifying grace for the spouses, a participation in the divine life of God Himself.

For more information: Contact the parish office (796-1604)


The Sacrament of Penance is also known as Confession or the Sacrament of Reconciliation. The Sacrament was instituted by Jesus on Easter Sunday (John 20: 22-23).
To receive the Sacrament worthily:
1) Be contrite (sorry for sins)
2) Confess sins fully, in kind and in number
3) Be willing to do penance and make amends for sins

To receive the Sacrament of Penance:
Monday - Friday: 7:30 - 7:45 a.m.

Saturday: 4:00 - 5:00 p.m.
and by appointment


Catholics believe the Eucharist, or Communion, is both a sacrifice and a meal.  We believe in the real presence of Jesus, who died for our sins.  As we receive Christ's Body and Blood, we also are nourished spiritually and brought closer to God.

In Holy Communion, we are eating the True Body and Blood of Jesus Christ, without which "you shall not have life in you" (John 6:53).  It is important to receive the Sacrament worthily by being free from any grave or mortal sin.

To receive the Sacrament of the Eucharist: Daily (at Mass)

Holy Orders

The Sacrament of Holy Orders is the continuation of Christ's priesthood, which He bestowed upon His Apostles ("the Sacrament of Apostolic Ministry").  "Ordination" comes from the Latin word ordinatio, which means to incorporate someone into an order.  In the Sacrament of Holy Orders, a man is incorporated into the priesthood of Christ, at one of three levels: the episcopate (bishop), the priesthood, or the diaconate.  A man cannot demand ordination; the Church has the authority to determine eligibility for the Sacrament. Because of his role as a successor to the Apostles, who were themselves successors to Christ, the bishop is the proper minister of the Sacrament.

For more information: Contact the Catholic Diocese of Wichita - Office of Vocations


Confirmation is known as the perfection of Baptism, because, as the introduction of the Rite of Confirmation states:

by the sacrament of Confirmation, [the baptized] are more perfectly bound to the Church and are enriched with a special strength of the Holy Spirit.  Hence they are, as true witnesses of Christ, more strictly obliged to spread and defend the faith by word and deed.

The original minister of Confirmation is the bishop. Priests can be authorized by their bishops to perform Confirmations.

To receive the Sacrament of ConfirmationContact the parish office (796-1604)